A Walk To Remember by Nicholas Sparks

I’ve obviously watched the movie first before I read the books since this was released when I was still in grade one. Actually, I can’t weigh whether I liked the book better than the movie. *sighs* But still, it was a fun and kilig read. It feels nice to be part of Landon Carter’s thought as each turn of the book, he falls in love with Jamie and was changed bit by bit.

Landon Carter was not as obnoxious in the book as he was in the movie. So is his friends. He knows Jamie but he doesn’t bully him or something. He just ignores her or when he notices her, his usual comments were about how too simple she looks and her only sweater or why she always help people and how weird she is.

Jamie Sullivan, on the other hand was also different. But I like the Jamie in the movie better than in the book. It’s just that I don’t like that she’s acting pretty much easy to get for Landon by asking him to walk her home. Besides, she didn’t have a list goal in the book which made me a little disappointed because I really loved the “Get a tatto. Be in two places at once. Join Peace Corps. Get married in my parent’s church” part.

A Walk To Remember, I’ve assessed, is not mainly a love story.It was about a guy who was once an irreversible being suddenly changed and became a lovely soul because of a girl that he’s willing to change for.

I cried when I read this because it made me realize the importance of life and our actions to other people. I gushed and blushed because it made me think that not all guys are the same. And lastly, I got inspired when I read this because I learned that when we talk about love, it wasn’t just about a stranger you’ve met and suddenly cared for. Love is about family, God, helping others and self-change.

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.” – 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

Love is the cause of change,

Jash

About Jashrawr

Jolog, adorkable, defying gravity ♥
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

