Dream High!

If you’ve already watched Dream High until the end, you should continue reading. If not, please do not continue or else I might spoil it for you. Well, it depends on you anyway.

One of the best ways to spend summer is to watch Koreanovelas all day. Dubbed as “The Most Successful Korean Drama of 2011” by ABS-CBN, Dream High is surely one of the coolest drama to be showed here in the Philippines. Though I’d surely watch it every night, I decided to buy a DVD. I was very curious and excited with the show. What with the commercials and promotions that you often see in your TV screen?

Six students at Kirin Art High School work to achieve their dreams of becoming stars in the Korean music industry. During the drama, the students learn how to develop their singing, songwriting and dancing skills while also undergoing personal growth. Each one of the students has his or her own strengths and weaknesses, but with the support and guidance of each other, they strive to debut on stage.

So, before I tell you my ‘review’ about this Kdrama, lemme introduce the casts first. (Just so you know, I don’t like KPop so I didn’t know these people until I watched Dream High)

Suzy (Miss A) as Go Hye Mi/Kelly

Hye Mi was originally from a rich family and is qualified to enter Julliard but due to his father’s debts, the loan shark President MDS had her enter Kirin Art School and become a star in order to repay their debts. Hye Mi for me is quite like Katniss Everdeen in character. She’s also cold-hearted and full of pride but still, she managed to change over time.

Favorite quote:

‘Feeling’ is misunderstanding.

Taecyon (of 2PM) as Jin Guk/Gino

Jin Guk as you can see is Hye Mi’s love interest. They met each other when they were young during the Christmas eve and shared Yakult and celebrated Jin Guk’s birthday. When they see each other again after some years, Hye Mi cannot remember him. During their trip to perform Genie for Jin Guk’s “brother”, she remembered it when they were having this written conversation on the window pane. Generally, he’s the person who helped Hye Mi learn to sing from her heart.

Want proof? This one: “Truly singing for someone, that’s the true beauty of singing.” ♥

IU as Kim Pil Suk/Gelou

Pil Suk was this naive, young girl who have so little confidence with herself because she’s fat (82kg). Ever since the audition to enter Kirin Art School, she fell in love with Jason. He’s so gentleman that’s why Pil Suk kind of thought he was into her. But after a confrontation, she learned that he likes her but not the way she thinks he do. She promised Jason that she will reduce weight on the 200 days that he will be away.

And look how pretty she really is! Plus, her voice is really mesmerizing :)

Someday by IU (Pil Suk) and Wooyoung (Jason)

Wooyoung (of 2PM) as Jason

Jason is a Korean-American who’s very good in dancing AND singing. While Aline and I were watching the series, we thought he’s really cool that’s why Aline really loved him. And I think he’s the cutest amongst the three guys.

Ham Eun Jung (of T-ara) as Yoon Baek Hee/Angelie

She and Hye Mi were best friends since high school but Hye Mi betrayed her during the audition to enter Kirin Art School (because Hye Mi really needed to enter or President MDS will do something bad to her sister). They became rivals but reconciled towards the end of the series.

Kim Soo Hyun as Song Sam Dong/Marco

Song Sam-Dong lives in the country side and dreams of becoming an owner of a stock farm. He falls in love with Ko Hye-Mi at first sight and follows her to Kirin High School of Art. There he discovers his genius like musical talent.

Though I don’t like him for Hye Mi, their song “Maybe” was my favorite soundtrack in the drama.

My first impression of Dream High is it’s like GLEE or High School Musical but when you watch it, you will see that it has its own uniqueness to it. It was funny, full of wisdom, heart-racing and unpredictable. The kilig moments were very subtle as well. The love teams have their own way to get the viewers kilig without trying so hard for words or actions.

As for the love teams, these are my picks:

Jason and Gelou (I’m using ABS’ name for her)

These two were so cute even from the first episode. I love how Jason keeps up with Gelou’s childishness because most guys will probably play with that kind of girls. I especially loved it when he returned to Korea from Japan after learning that Gelou wasn’t able to come with them because of her Hepatitis A (which he thought to be Hepa B because of Kelly). And of course, I so loved it when Jason revealed that his wallpaper was Gelou leading them to become official couple.

Gino and Kelly ♥

As I’ve said earlier, they’ve known each other ever since childhood. During the Christmas eve, they me outside a convenience store and shared Yakult. It’s really cute how they put one straw in each bottle (they still do it that way until they’re grown ups). I loved them because of their kilig moments in the series. There’s a lot of chemistry in them.

But it’s such a shame when Kelly fell for Marco (Sam Dong) towards the end of the series. To be honest, I HATED IT. I thought when they kissed in Japan, they were officially together but on episode 12, Kelly started to get confused. I think I cried on the part when Gino talked to her about it. It was so heartbreaking. I mean, most of the kilig things in the series happened between them and then she’ll end up with Marco? Ugh.

Actually, the ending is inconclusive because during Hye Mi’s concert, Marco is in the United States–indicating that they are not together together. Still, it’s clear that if he’d come back, Kelly would choose him. If I’ll have the chance to change this, I would really really really make her end up with Gino.

I WILL GO DOWN WITH THIS SHIP!

Even if I didn’t like the ending, I’d still tell my friends to watch it. Wait, let me rephrase that. I didn’t hate the ending. I hated a part of the ending and you know what I’m talking about. Haha.

Dream High will be ranked as one of the best dramas I’ve watched. I think if I can control the Kid’s Choice Award, I’d give the Best Asian Act award to the casts of this series. I loved love loved it.

Other favorite songs from Dream High:

Theme song: Dream High performed by the whole cast

And my favorite part of the drama, their GENIE performance! <3

Dream high,

Jash

P. S.

“If there’s a boulder blocking your path, then you’d have to push harder.”

About Jashrawr

Jolog, adorkable, defying gravity ♥
This entry was posted in Koreanovela, Music, TV Shows. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Dream High!

  1. Jaa Ann Mariano says:

    Where did you buy the dvd XD

  2. Anna-Mae says:

    Dream High love ittt…!!! so perfect to teenager.. :*

  3. johainie says:

    i love dream high… since it was started….. i love kelly and marco because they are the perfect couple…. …. how i wish that they will be here in our country… PHILIPPINES…

  4. johainie says:

    no one can DOUBT…. haha please watch DREAM HIGH love love ko talaga. that’s waht i can say for now…… love you all.:)

  5. Kisha Yvanna says:

    Hahaha! Love this one! ;) <3 <3

  6. Tin-tin Bof says:

    i love it can you pass me a picture of gino and kelly?

  7. lourdelett torres says:

    do you know, i love the pair of gino and angelie! and i love marco to be with kelly… i just thinking that we have to accept the fact that is life…and life is sometimes unfair to us…hehehe?? im sorry..but that was im thinking.. plz. plz… dnt hate angelie or ham eun jung because shes really awesome and kind…thank you very much… love u girls!

    • I don’t hate her, dear, I just didn’t like her ways in the series. Plus, I do accept that what happened cannot be changed. I was just saying that I didn’t like the ending.

  8. jane says:

    i love Dream High…and i like all d episodes. esp. wen kelly realize dat marco song is her truly loved…i love marco ever! and gino is very cute, i love d way he smile… jason wew, he is good n dancing and i like der loveteam with gelou dey r cute…. angelie is beautiful, she s very cute!

Leave a Reply

