The Mistress

“Hindi dahil gusto mo, makukuha mo.”

It has been a long time since I’ve actually watched a movie this good. I mean, there were a lot of nice movies these past few years, but I never had any favourite since One More Chance. So, tonight, after going to Executive Optical for my eye glass consultation, I asked my Mum to come with me and watch the Mistress. Yep, my 135pesos was more than worth it (it was also a treat for myself after winning in a contest I joined, Gawad Alcala which will be blogged this weekend :p)

Obviously, I can’t share the whole thing with you since I might spoil it. Actually, I really don’t want to since not watching it on big screen will most likely be one of your regrets. Though The Mistress was a little mature for me—not really, though, since I’m 17—I just can’t help but love and appreciate the movie. The story was well written and unique. It was a kind of story that does not follow what the audiences want but instead, it makes them crave more but does not disappoint. I mean, yes, it fascinates us to see that sort of story wherein this guy falls in love with the mistress of his stepfather (I gave this away since you’ll discover this on the first ten minutes of the movie), but the intensity of the drama and the ability of the actors and actresses to portray the roles and surface the story… WOW. John Lloyd never fails to make me cry, and surprisingly, so does Bea Alonzo this time around.

In the movie, there are a lot of times that they were together with Sari’s niece and nephews; they’re like a whole family. The scene in the stairwell where JD said: “Alam mo kung ano ang kaya kong gawin na hindi kaya ng Mr. Thursday mo. Kaya kitang pakasalan. Sa akin, wala kang kahati.” The time they closed their eyes and “kunwari” they were married and they have four or five kids, living in a house together with Sari’s huge family, and et cetera. I think I’d fall for a guy who talks about our future like that. It was so moving.

Since I can’t say more about what happened in the movie because, 1. you should really watch it, and 2. I’m not good in a film’s technical aspect, except probably on how I take the story,  so 3. I’ll just tell you about how I felt on some of the lines (Feeling John Green today):

  •  Yung Thursday na finally sasabihin mong gusto mo ako maging Mr. Everyday.”

->Patience and perseverance: these are one of the many things a girl should look for in a guy. When JD said it to Sari, I was so moved and I even wished that someday someone will also say “I can be Mr. Monday, Mr. Tueday, Mr. Wednesday, Mr. Friday, Mr. Saturday, Mr. Sunday hanggang sa dumating ‘yung araw na ako na si Mr. Everyday.”

  • “Hindi mo malalaman na may kulang hanggang walang darating na mag-pupuno.”

-> Actually this was the first line that struck me hard. What with all the things happening in my life right now? I guess, this line will suffice anybody who knows they want something more than what they already have, but can’t find what it is at the moment because they’re still waiting for someone or something to make them see it.

  • “Ang daming dahilan para hindi kita mahalin. Pero may isang dahilan para ‘di ko magawa yun. Mahal kita. Yun lang yun.”

->C’mon, need I say more?

  •  “Kung mabuhay man ako ulit, I’ll make sure I’ll never hurt you again.”

->This was a line from Rico (played by Ronaldo Valdez) to JD’s Mom (played by Hilda Koronel). I was so touched in this scene. It’s not the OA oldies lovey dovey moment. It was like listening to two people who’re making up for the time they’ve lost. That sweet sort of thing.

AND LASTLY, the line that had broken my heart into little pieces:

“Siguro sa kunwari na lang natin pwedeng mahalin ang isa’t isa.”

-Most of the time JD and Sari were together, they would always imagine what things would have been if they’re not in that situation by closing their eyes and starting sentences with “Kunwari”. Once again, I can’t give away what happened in this part, but all I can say is that if you’ve watched the movie and didn’t cry on this part, you’re a total rock on the wall.

 Music/Theme Song

Snow Patrol’s Chasing Cars was very fit for The Mistress. It’s not just a theme song for the sake of having a theme song, but it speaks for the movie.

“If I lay here, if I just lay here

Would you lie with me and just forget the world.”

Remember, I’ve mentioned that Sari and JD always imagine things when they’re together?

I guess this is the end of my blog because if I type further, I might really spoil it for you. Olivia Lamasan is indeed worth bowing down for as well as the whole cast of The Mistress, especially John Lloyd and Bea. This movie is a legend and for me, it deserves a place in the Hall of Fame.

Kunwari,

Jashrawr

P. S.

I was happy to see Suddenly It’s Magic’s trailer before the movie. OHMYMARIO! Unfortunately, no one’s uploaded it in YouTube. Boo! Can someone send me the link if you see one?

About Jashrawr

Jolog, adorkable, defying gravity ♥
This entry was posted in Movies, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Mistress

  1. Vanessa Valdez says:

    Thank you for watching the movie. Am glad you liked it. Thank you. =) Am also happy that you got exactly why we chose Chasing Cars (the ORIGINAL SNOW PATROL VERSION!) to score the movie. Thanks for taking the time out to write the movie. =) — Vanessa Valdez

  2. Ysabelle Cuevas says:

    Congrats on winning ate Joyce! AWW! You saw the trailer already? That’s so cool! How was it? If only there was a Filipino theater here. :( anyways, miss you!

    • It was so worth watching, Ysa! :D I think there’ll be an international screening, but I’m not that sure. Anyway, if there’d be a chance that it’ll be shown there, go watch it! I miss you too, dear <3

Leave a Reply

