Book Review: Paper Towns by John Green

“I’ve always liked routine. I suppose I never found boredom very boring.”

Paper Towns by John Green

Aside from these three facts: 1) My laptop broke down; 2) Because it broke down, I had a reason to read; and 3) I seriously need to finish it like already, Paper Towns was a totally good read and one of the best YA novels I’ve read.

When I first read The Fault In Our StarsI decided John Green was my favorite Young Adult author. I can relate to his books and stories because the “philosophies” of the main characters say a lot about any person who sees the world as something a little bit cruel. Well, not every thing in this world is cruel. I guess, to simply put it, John Green is not afraid to express his views of the world. And yes, he’s right most of the time.

As in the case of Paper Towns, it tells a story about this boy named Quentin Jacobsen who had his life changed forever when one night, his childhood crush, Margo Roth Spiegelman, entered his room and asked him to accompany him in her twelve missions. Little did Q know that after these missions, Margo will be gone, and that there’s a possibility that he’ll never see her again.

I liked Paper Towns mostly because of the “paper people living in paper houses in a paper town” part. You know, paper towns are fictional towns put into map to avoid copyright infringement. Simply put, it’s fake.The idea of paper town struck me as interesting. I even consider looking up one. Haha

Other thing is, when Margo had gone missing, she gave Q the chance to know himself and start doing something more than he’s already doing. A lot of things has changed including his friend, Radar, finally coming out of his humiliation because of his parents’ black Santa collection. Also, Ben found a girlfriend out of Lacey whom he never thought would even talk to him.

The only person missing was Q, and he set out his journey to follow Margo’s clues and find her. While they were on the road to Margo, he realized a lot of things. He even accepted that whether he find Margo or not, it will be alright because at least, a lot of good things have happened despite her absence.

Whether he found Margo or not? That’s something you  should discover. All I can say is whatever this book has brought me, I think it will also create quite an effect on you.

Here are some lines that I liked (and highlighted) from the book:

  • “I’m starting to realize that people lack good mirrors. It’s so hard for anyone to show us how we look, & so hard for us to show anyone how we feel.”
  • “As much as life can suck, it always beats the alternative.”
  • “Nothing ever happens like you imagine it will”
  • “Here’s what’s not beautiful about it: from here, you can’t see the rust or the cracked paint or whatever, but you can tell what the place really is. You can see how fake it all is. It’s not even hard enough to be made out of plastic. It’s a paper town. I mean, look at it, Q: look at all those cul-de-sac, those streets that turn in on themselves, all the houses that were built to fall apart. All those paper people living in their paper houses, burning the future to stay warm. All the paper kids drinking beer some bum bought for them at the paper convenience store. Everyone demented with the mania of owning things. All the things paper-thin and paper-frail. And all the people, too. I’ve lived here for eighteen years and I have never once in my life come across anyone who cares about anything that matters.”

But I don’t know why I disagreed on this part:

“Did you know that for pretty much the entire history of the human species, the average life span was less than thirty years? You could count on ten years or so of real adulthood, right? There was no planning for retirement. There was no planning for a career. There was no planning. No time for planning. No time for a future. But then the life spans started getting longer, and people started having more and more future. And now life has become the future. Every moment of your life is lived for the future–you go to high school so you can go to college so you can get a good job so you can get a nice house so you can afford to send your kids to college so they can get a good job so they can get a nice house so they can afford to send their kids to college.”

I am a girl who thinks about future, and for all the cheesy reasons, I want to meet a guy who thinks about the future, too. Forgive me, but I think Life is future: the reason why we think about our future is because we want to appreciate our now’s. Well, I just think that. I can’t argue with Margo–or John Green, for that matter.

And you know the best thing I’ve ever realized from this book?

“The town was paper, but the memories are real.”

I’ve always hated my school. Yes. I think, when you’re in school, every body knows you when you’re an officer, or the best in Science, Math, in the top ranks, or you made a totally huge mistake. Your school only acknowledges you when you’ve brought home a trophy. But that’s bull. Though Quezon High appears to be a really competitive school, I couldn’t have asked to be enrolled in any high school in the world. I feel lucky to have spent my four years in QNHS not matter how tired, abused, and under-appreciated I felt every day. Why? Because if I never studied in Quezon High, I probably would have never met the best friends and teachers in my life. I wouldn’t exchange those memories for the world.

Towards the end of the story, Quentin realized the best parts of high school. The same went for me. Three years ago, I wanted to get out of it, like, already. But then, I realized today that maybe, I want it to last a little longer. Only, it will never happen because time can’t be stopped.

High school is boring and full of routines. Though Sir ROE disagreed with this, I’d still say that with these remaining priceless six months of my high school life, I’d enjoy boring for a while.

Jashrawr.

About Jashrawr

Jolog, adorkable, defying gravity ♥
This entry was posted in Books, Jash Diaries, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

