Suddenly It’s Magic

Why are there people who give up love for career, or career for love? I haven’t thought much about it before, but if there’s one thing I’ve learned from Suddenly It’s Magic, it’s that you can make them work together if you love them both that much.

For the first time in history, the Filipina Sweetheart Erich Gonzales and Thai Superstar Mario Maurer worked together for a romance movie entitled Suddenly It’s Magic.

As you all know, Mario came to fame when his movie with Fern Leuvisadpaibul skyrocketed to Philippine screens. A lot of people loved it, and one of them was yours truly :) Nam and Shone’s story was just so relatable that you can’t help but love the film.

I was so happy when I learned last year that Mario’s going to have a movie with Erich. I’ve been waiting for it since, and now I had a chance to see him in big screen. Trust me, you will not get out of the cinema without a smile in your faces. It was that refreshing.

Joey Hermosa (Erich Gonzales) and Marcus Hanson (Mario Maurer) only have two things in common. One: they live to make fairy-tale romances happen — Joey through her exquisite wedding cakes; Marcus through the numerous romantic comedies he stars in. Two: their own love stories do not have the fairy-tale happy endings — she was just recently dumped at the altar; he just discovered that his on-screen partner and real-life girlfriend had fallen in love with another man.

These two broken-hearted people will find love again when they least expect it. Sounds like the perfect recipe for a sweet ever after!

Desperate to escape the media frenzy and the intrusive questions of the public about his love life and career, Marcus impulsively decides to go on vacation in the Philippines where he meets Joey who is determined to move forward with her life. Marcus finds himself drawn to Joey’s passion for baking, and rediscovers his love for acting. In love once again, he invites her to join him in Thailand. Joey refuses at first, but she eventually follows him to Bangkok and allows herself to fall in love again. But their love encounters opposition from Marcus’ fans who are desperate to see him reunite with his ex-girlfriend, and from his overprotective mother. Moreover, Joey’s responsibilities back home cause a strain in their relationship. Despite their love for each other, Joey and Marcus begin to question if their dreams are worth sacrificing for holiday romance suddenly turned serious.

Can Marcus and Joey’s fairytale romance survive life’s realities?

Erich Gonzales as Joey Hermosa

Joey is a brokenhearted baker who refuses to love again after getting dumped by her fiance during their wedding. Since then, she stopped from baking, but after some months, she came back to the shop her mother built for her. She met Marcus at a shop, and got mad at him after he said that Joey’s cupcakes were “the saddest cupcakes ever!”. Eventually, she fell in love with him, and she finally got over her fear of falling in love.

Erich Gonzales did a good job in the movie. I think she portrayed Joey very well–the emotionally fragile heartbroken girl who can be really happy when she’s in love. I also love how Erich can cry (and make me cry) heart-fully. Her tears flow effortlessly, I wonder how she does that. Wow. Hands down!

“Ang hirap kaya na ‘yong mga tao sinisimangutan ka, sinusungitan ka, minumura ka, na ang kasalanan mo lang naman eh nagmahal ka.”

Mario Maurer as Marcus Hanson

Marcus, on the other hand, is a Thai actor who’s getting tired of his job after his break up with his long-time girlfriend and on-screen partner, Sririta (Fern). She has a new boyfriend now, and Mario can’t stand to have a job with her anymore because of that pain. Marcus wanted to have a vacation for a while. Because of her nanny, Jinggay (Joy Viado), he went to visit Ilocos, Philippines, and met Joey there.

He was so happy that people don’t know him. I had a good laugh in one of his conversation with a hotel crew:

Marcus: Hey, do you know my name?

Hotel crew: I’m sorry, Sir, I don’t know your name.

Marcus: *smiles* I’m glad you don’t know my name.

Even if Mario’s struggling with his English, he was still able to do his job well. His facial expressions take the struggle away that’s why the movie flowed seamlessly. I’m such a sucker for guys who can cry on-screen (like John Lloyd Cruz), and Mario’s a total gem. I also love his outfits in the movie. I bet they’re all from Penshoppe. Hehe

Supporting Casts:

I loved all the supporting casts especially Lita (Marcus’ secretary). She speaks very good English, I wonder if she’s really Thai. Haha. Marcus’ gay co-actor was a gem, too. He’s such a good influence on Marcus, and he understands what he’s feeling. I remember his response to Marcus when he said he’s tired of what he’s doing: “Last time I said that, I became a woman (which made me laugh like crazy inside the theater).

Joey’s co-crew in her shop were so funny (Joross Gamboa, Cacai Bautista, etc.), I love how they encourage Joey to take a leap of faith, and their support for her all throughout the movie. This only shows how amazing a Pinoy friend is!

But of all the supporting casts, she was the most noticed. I’m talking about Fern, who played Marcus’ ex-girlfriend, Sririta Taylor. It was so weird seeing Fern act so flirty, but I was happy in one scene when she comforted Marcus about his problems. I hope they’ll have a movie together again. (Spoiler alert: If you’re disappointed in CLTCL not seeing them kiss, well, watch Suddenly It’s Magic!)

What made me love the movie?

Direction and Storyline

If it were not for a good director like Rory Quintos, I don’t think the chemistry between Mario and Erich will surface. She chose the best places and locations to shoot the movie, and I know how much she did to make Mario act well despite his constant struggle in speech. I just love the topography and the quality of the film, especially the first part.

Vanessa Valdez… she became my idol because of The Mistress. I was so awed when she commented on my blog about it. I think she’s a really good writer. I would want to watch more movies she will write in the future. She’s the best!

“For me, the good films are the ones that don’t feel written but feel like actually happen in real life, the more you don’t feel the screenplay, for me its a better movie, if hindi ko nararamdaman na isinulat siya, yung natural lang na, ganun talaga magsalita ang mga tao, and as I grow old I avoid the quotable quotes eh hehe…”

Theme Song

While Snow Patrol’s Chasing Cars gave a deeper meaning to The Mistress; Erik Santos’ and Angeline Quinto’s version of Suddenly It’s Magic gave color to the movie. Every time it’s played as background song, I get kilig about the scene even more. This proves that you don’t need a lot of song to make a good movie. One is more than enough for that.

Realization

It was love at first sight for Marcus, while it took a few days for Joey to give love a chance. While some people might be skeptical about how fast they fell for each other, I have to defend that the title speaks for the movie. Suddenly It’s Magic: sudden meaning abrupt, happens in a blink of an eye without you realizing or knowing it.

I don’t believe in love at first sight, but I realized that it wouldn’t exist if it’s not happening in people. For Joey and Marcus, falling in love that easily was a total magic. They say that kind of love doesn’t last long, but do we really know? Can we really judge love based on what we see, and not what we feel they feel?

I would also like to touch the topic of career versus love. That was the main issue in the movie, and the thing that made the movie a hit to me was the fact that it was able to answer that issue. Love, sometimes you have to give it up for career, but if you really love that person the same way that you love your career then, you will do the best you can to keep them together.

Suddenly It’s Magic was a funny, kilig-filled, inspiring movie. At first I thought it was a cliche story, but when you watch it, you’ll realize it was worth it–well, unless you’re bitter person who doesn’t believe in love, don’t bother. Haha!

It’s not just a pretty face for a movie. Suddenly It’s Magic, I’m telling you, says a lot about realizing your dreams and making them come true with the person you love <3

Watch Suddenly It’s Magic in theatres nationwide!

Jashrawr.

P. S.

I still love you :)

About Jashrawr

Jolog, adorkable, defying gravity ♥
This entry was posted in Movies, Special. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Suddenly It’s Magic

  1. Stephyy says:

    obsessed with this movie for weeks! It’s like I can’t go on a day without watching it. Hahahaha! Awesome post! :)

Leave a Reply

