We’ll See.

Oftentimes, movie adaptations don’t give justice to the book, but I have been too prone to a lot of them that I don’t bother to hate them too much. Sure, I notice slight differences, but if it’s just minimal, I don’t get too bothered by it.

Currently, I have three movies I’m planning to watch since the trailer looks good. I hope they don’t disappoint.

Hansel and Gretel

hanselandgretelI am not really fond of fairy tales modified into something more than it really is. I mean, remember Red Riding Hood and Snow White and the Huntsman. I didn’t watch them (even though I wanted to) since I can’t find any trace of similarity between the movie and the real story.

Though, at some point, Hansel and Gretel is quite intriguing. It’s pretty much like a projection of what might happen to these siblings had their parents didn’t come back for them. Wait, is that really the ending? Haha. Correct me if I’m wrong. I’m kinda hooked to a lot of contemporary novels today that I sometimes forget what happened in the old tales.

Beautiful Creatures

beautifulcreaturesThis poster reminds me so much of Gossip Girl. Haha! I mean, the concept, the emotion, it’s just so Gossip Girl. Plus, it looks more like a TV show poster than a movie poster. But so much for that. I am hoping I’d be able to read the book first before I watch it. Although, February 14 is not too far away now.

Beautiful Creatures is a part of a series, so if this movie is a success, a possibility of part two is high. For the record, I read a lot of series before I get hooked to young adults. Now, I am feeling lazy every time I’d read a series especially if it’s adventure. Last month, I bought Mark of Athena (the third series to Rick Riordan’s Heroes of Olympus); I’ve already lent it to my brother and my friend, Meanne. They both said it was good, but I am still on page 30 or something.

I think, to be able to actually start reading the Beautiful Creatures series, I need to watch it first. Sometimes watching the movies first can help you decide whether a certain book is worth reading (the same case that happened to me with Percy Jackson and the Olympus).

The Host

thehostLuckily, this won’t be on the theaters until March. I’m currently reading it courtesy of my ever good friend, Jana. I like it actually, but I’m too busy with school works right now that I’m not yet halfway through it. I intend to read it more this weekend so I’ll be able to catch up on the next book I need to read thru my phone.

The trailer looks promising. I think, a lot of movie-makers today are inspired by Hunger Games. They’re making the characters and plots really similar to what’s written in the book. I am not a fan of Stephenie Meyer’s for the record; I don’t even know why I’ve read all her books and watched all the Twilight movies–in theaters, by the way. I pretty much hope that The Host will not disappoint–both the book and the movie–and that Melanie/Wanderer is not as weak as Bella when it comes to the guy she loves. Ooops. There I go again.

What movies do you intend to watch this year? Share!

Jashrawr.

P. S.

Next up–Book reviews on: Abundance of Katherines, The Night Circus, and Every Day

About Jashrawr

Jolog, adorkable, defying gravity ♥
This entry was posted in Movies, Videos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

