Let’s Get Critical

It has been a long time since I last posted a proper post in my blog. I’ve been too busy with school, and we also have this Weebly blog in English. Now that term’s almost over, and summer’s fast-approaching, I think I will resurface with more posts to come.

While there’s still no new thing from school aside from the fact that we’ve moved to a new building since our beloved DOST was brought down to give way for a building that will prove “greatness”, let me start by movie reviews.

I have watched a lot of movies last February, and early this March too. I think I’ve become critical with movies that I deserve to spill it out. Haha!

Pitch Perfect

PPRating: 2 out of 5

Though it was a fresh approach to the cinema and I think it’s a good start for a first movie (if they’re planning to have a sequel), as a GLEEk, I only rated it 2. Maybe because I’ve seen and heard a lot of musical innovation in GLEE that their stunts in the movie are boring to me. The Treblemakers are fine, but the Dalton Warblers can sing A Capellas better. I just can’t stop comparing this to GLEE. I just hope that if they ever do a sequel, it’d be much better. A lot of my schoolmates are in love with this movie, but it just doesn’t strike me as good.

I don’t know why, it’s not like Pitch Perfect was adapted from a book, but Anna Kendrick doesn’t strike me as suitable for the role of Becca (and even worse, Becca is not a cool name for a main character). I kind of also dislike the fact that she’s paved her way easily to become noticeable by the crowd. Yeah, she’s this stubborn girl who hates her father, but I kind of think that the parts where she “proves” her talents is an attempt for the audience to sympathize and love her. Aubrey, in my opinion, was the nicest character out of all of them.

Nevertheless, I really loved their Titanium version (despite the awkward scene). I realized how awesome it is to hear it sung that way. That’s all.

Upside Down

upside downRating: 2.5 out of 5

I’ve never been a fan of Kiki Dunst. I only bought its DVD mainly because I can’t decide which to watch. I watched it with my cousin, MJ, and he’s totally interested with it. Maybe because of the graphics and the science of it. In the beginning of the movie, my heart was moved by Adam’s (Jim Sturgess) theory about soul mates, but as the movie progresses, I find myself losing interest. It gets very anticlimactic, and I’m not much of a fan of love stories too similar to Romeo and Juliet. I mean, there are love stories that are cute and heart-tugging when they’re willing to break the low, but Adam and Eden’s relationship is just… not interesting in any means. More so, there are love stories which you want the couple to go on their separate ways, and that’s what I wanted to happen in this movie. The ending was too cheesy, and I didn’t like their choices. Just because people are suckers for love doesn’t mean you should give them what they want to rise ticket sales.

Effects were good, but the plot was not.

Crazy Stupid Love

crazy-stupid-love1Rating: 3 out of 5

The only reason this movie got a three from me was because I really liked the chemistry between Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone. I found myself looking out for them while watching the movie, and so I ended up ignoring Hannah’s (Emma Stone) parents which were played by Steve Carell and Julianne Moore. Don’t get me wrong, stories that involve marriage are cute, but I got sort of bored with theirs. Nevertheless, this was a hilarious movie. I though it’s one of those R-18s (No Strings Attached -like), but it turned out to be about family and love. Most parts of the movie were boring, but the ending was good, and I recommend you watch this when you’re feeling enthusiastic and happy.

Jack the Giant Slayer

jack

Rating: 3 out of 5

It was Friday, and I can’t think of something to do, so I asked G to watch this movie with me since he wasn’t able to treat me to Beautiful Creatures (we had an argument that time). There weren’t much choice, actually: Die Hard 5 (Not an action fan), Silver Linings Playbook (I thought he wouldn’t like a love story), and A Moment In Time (I have an irrational hate-ness over Julia and Coco), so we ended up watching this movie.

He liked it, but I didn’t. Well, I liked it a little. I guess, I’ve already seen the same plot in other movies, the only difference was it has a different setting. It’s still about saving a princess and marrying her in the end. The graphics were good–of course, it’s Warner Bros. But still, it’s same old same old.

Life of Pi

lifeofpiRating: 4 out of 5

I was interested in this movie adaptation even before. That day, I specifically wanted to watch Les Miserables, but we didn’t make it on time, so we ended up watching this. I can’t think of comments for this movie even while I’m watching this. All I know is that i am really interested, and Pi’s personality is fascinating. He’s this kid who believes in three religions (Christianity, Islam, and Hinduism). I can’t forget his father’s line: “Believing in everything is the same thing as not believing in anything at all.” Up until now, I seem to ponder what he said, but I can’t put into words my interpretation about it.

I thought I’d get bored with the whole movie since it’s only him and the Richard Parker (the Tiger), but he’s been through a lot of adventures that I am compelled and amazed as to how he survived. I think this movie only proves that some people only believe what their minds want to accept.

I’m still wondering though, why didn’t Richard Parker look back as he goes inside the jungle? :(

Silver Linings Playbook

SLPRating: 4.5 out of 5

Here’s some background story of how I ended up watching this. Originally, I only wanted to accompany G in printing his newspaper for Journ, so I decided to wear my old maong short and favorite red monkey shirt. When I got to McDo where we’re supposed to meet, he decided to go to SM, and I’ve no choice but to go as well even if I’m only wearing flip flops, and I really thought he’s just buying something in NBS.

When we got there, he suddenly asked me if I’ve already seen Sliver Linings Playbook, and I said I haven’t, and then he said that we’ll watch it. And I was like, “OMG. Nakapambahay lang ako.” Pero no choice, so we watched it.

I was kind of weirded out by the start of the movie since it’s about this guy, Patrick, who has a bipolar disorder who can’t get over his wife. Then there’s Tiffany who’s husband died and was fired for having sex with every one in her office. I mean, if you’re a person who can’t take that much, you won’t be able to cope with these kind of things. Some people says it’s an “adult Perks”, but I never even thought about it while watching SLP. Besides, SLP was way hilarious than Perks was. I liked Perks, but it didn’t stick the way SLP did. To me, they were entirely different.

Well, in the beginning, I was bored, and we lost count of the number of times the characters used the word “fuck” (which surfaces in every conversation, by the way) in every situation. Nonetheless, I found myself enjoying as the movies goes. The characters were all fun to watch, and I am really happy and satisfied with the ending. I also thought Jen Law made a nice job playing Tiffany. No wonder she was Best Actress.

Forrest Gump

forrest gumpRating: 5 out of 5

Yes, I only watched it this year. My Mum told me years ago that this is a very inspiring movie. It was only when Sir Mon said a quote from the movie (“Life is like a box of chocolate. You’ll never know what you’re going to get) that I thought of watching it for real. Aside from the fact that I have something I needed to cry about, this is a true tearjerker. It was very inspiring. You can really relate to the characters and it’s like each one of them connects to you. Tom Hanks did a great job portraying Forrest Gump. I love how, despite his condition and despite the people’s sneers, he managed to do his own thing and become successful. He was a great person, and I guess, I would fall in love with a guy who could care so much like that. His Mom is also really supportive, and it made me realize that despite the fact that I’m always in a fight with my Mum, she’s very important to me.  I would be so glad to listen to his story the whole day even if I don’t make it to my bus.

“Dear God, make me a bird so I can fly away, far, far away.”

Moulin Rouge

mouline rouge

Rating: 5 out of 5

Bree has been talking about this since the start of our Senior year. I’ve no idea what this movie is about, I even though it was an old one. So, when I had the chance, I watched it.

Moulin Rouge is a musical. But, what compelled me to it, is the feel of the whole movie. Some characters make you do awkward facial expressions because of what they do, but mostly, it was so entertaining to watch.

I fell in love with Nicole Kidman the first moment I saw her. She’s such a great actress, and really pretty too. I think I like her hair better in red than blonde. Ewan McGregor, too, was a great actor. Every time there’s a sad scene, I can definitely feel it.

Mostly, when a movie starts funny, and then became sad in the middle, I feel bored. But this one is just so good, I can’t be bothered watching it. It kinda help me understanding some things in life, and it’s really amazing and spectacular. I wish the musical movies nowadays will be as good as this had been.

Safe Haven

safe havenRating: 5 out of 5

Personally, I planned to watch Young Victoria for Valentine’s Day. It was the morning of JS Prom, and since Jue and I are not joining, we decided to watch a movie. I thought Beautiful Creatures was showing that day, but it turned out that it will be played the next day.

The only choice we had was Safa Haven and A Moment in Time. Jue thought that if we watch A Moment In Time, there’s a huge possibility that we’ll regret it, so even if have no idea what Safe Haven’s all about, we watched it.

I think the movie was amazing, because I had goosebumps even from the beginning. It was a romantic thriller, and you’d be really fooled about the main character’s, Katie, true history. I think Julianne Hough and Josh Duhamel have a great chemistry that’s why they got me. Both Jue and I loved it, and I was really touched by the ending. It was one of those rare moments when I have a goofy smile playing right after I get out of the cinema.

Later that night, when I got home, I saw some comments in Facebook that are not very fond of the movie since it’s entirely different from the book. ISN’T THAT ALWAYS THE ISSUE? I’ve gotten tired comparing the book with the movie, but it’s just me, and I can’t blame other people. And so, I read the book, and yes, they were different. But, just so you know, Nicholas Sparks produced the movie which means whatever the developments made by the writers were consulted to him.

I liked the book in the same way that I loved the movie. The thing is, I am happy of the development they’ve made. Someone said “they didn’t go canoeing in the book!”, but I think it’s sweet. Someone had the problem with hair color, but that’s such a minimal problem. Someone said it took long for Katie to tell Alex the truth in the book, but I am taking that it took her little time to tell him about her.

Whichever, I am both happy with the book and the movie, and eventually, people will stop dwelling on that.

Beautiful Creatures

beautiful creatures

Rating: 5 out of 5

Most of my friends in Goodreads thought the Caster Chronicles is lame. I guess, it depends on the person reading it, and I’ve still yet to finish the first book. Am I too shallow to like this series? I guess not. We have different tastes, anyway.

The thing is, I’ve watched the movie even before I read the first book. But trust me when I say that if I find the book better than the movie, I’d be willing to criticize it even if I’ve watched it first. But then again, I’ve long since stopped comparing them to the point that I’d be enraged.

When I first watched its trailer, all I can think about is that I want to watch it merely because I need something to do on V-day. I wasn’t able to watch it on V-day since it wasn’t showing at that time, but I saw it last week, and I must say that I really enjoyed watching it.

Lena Duchannes, who was played by Alice Englert, recently moved into town to her Uncle Macon Ravenwood’s old plantation house. On the one hand, Ethan Wate, who was played by Alden Ehrenreich, has been dreaming about a mysterious girl which turned out to be Lena, of course. Lena is about to be claimed, whether by evil or good, on her 16th birthday, and she still has yet to find out what will break the curse.

The effects used in the movie were really good. I especially love it when Lena’s getting angry, with those twirling table and ‘incidental’ hurricane. But mostly, I just find Ethan Wate hilarious and sweet. I mean, when I watched the trailer, I thought the guy wasn’t attractive and I didn’t think I’d like him. Still, his wit and confidence got made me enjoy the entire movie. I also thought their love story will be similar to the corny-ness of Bella’s and Edward’s, but they made their best to remain the love nature of high school students. God, I am dying to see the next movie, and I hope that love between this two will remain cute and at the same time, touching :)

Favorite line from Ethan Wate:

“No! I’m sick of listening to your family. I have been chased, spun, hypnotized, paralyzed, and damn near killed by your family. I have been going out of my mind for the past two weeks, then your mother shows up on my door step and damn near gives me a heart attack but you know what I don’t care about them, about the curse, you are not going dark and you are not losing me! No matter what they do, no matter what they do to me, I’m still here.”

“Everybody has to deal with shit in their lives Lena. You want to be a normal human what do you think that is? We don’t have powers to change anything anytime we want. Being human is feeling bad, it’s feeling pissed off, it’s feeling scared, it’s you not being able to do anything about it until you don’t feel that way anymore till you can just see your way out of it. And I yelled at you because I care about you, that’s what normal people do who love each other! When one of them is acting like a brat! Now would you please stop raining on me!”

BC

So, which movies have you seen recently, and what are you looking forward to this year?

Jashrawr

About Jashrawr

Jolog, adorkable, defying gravity ♥
This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

